top of page

Finding yourself (including helpful resources and hotlines)



It's hard not to compare yourself to others, like what I have said in my quarter life crisis post. I heard from a famous podcaster (Georgia Hardstark) - "Twenties are for finding yourself". I think you can find yourself at any point in life. Sometimes I feel weird that I am so content with spending so much time by myself. This pandemic has required me to do a lot of self reflection. I think it's had us spend a lot of time being more introverted. This time of life has helped me figure out my mental health, I've learned how to do my own taxes, and I am learning about insurance... all very boring things but I feel more financially independent than I have in a long time. Which may seem silly considering I'm living with my mom... but it has pushed me in a lot of ways. Moving to California has pushed me to meet new people - safely. I have gotten a new job, I have had opportunities that I wouldn't have gotten if I had stayed in Oregon. I also have had a chance to help my family during some uncertain times. I'm nervous about what my future holds, and I know I will face challenging times now and again, but I feel excited for the future as well. And seriously, I have a job that is so dreamy, which makes things feel more secure. I guess my point is... life may not be what you expected it to be but that is okay. And hey, if we have learned anything from 2020, we can't really plan for anything.


All of this being said - mental health issues are at an all time high right now in our country. The suicide rate has increased, and feelings of isolation are present like never before.


If you or anyone you know is struggling, here are some helpful resources and support:

  1. Dating abuse & domestic violence: 1.866.331.9474

  2. Depression & suicide: 1.800.273.8255

  3. The Trevor Project (suicide hotline for LGBTQ young adult community) 866.488.7386

  4. Eating Disorder Hotline: 1.800.931.2237

  5. General Crisis: Text support to 741-741

  6. Mental Illness Hotline: 1.800.950.6264

  7. Sexual Assault Hotline: 1.800.656.4673

  8. Veterans Crisis Line: 1.800.273.8255

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Issues

Men grew up around her She watched them as society molded them Changed them Her father was a confused man, a man who had a lot of pain....

Love is a constant

I'm not quite sure why I have such a hard time helping myself be better. Why do I put off things like meditation or yoga, why have I...

留言


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page